Start-Ups help us create lasting value for the BayWa Group.

BayWa Venture GmbH is BayWa’s open innovation platform. Its goal is to find and roll out new business models for the company and its affiliates that make a lasting, measurable difference through two successful programmes: BayWa Venture Investments and BayWa Venture Start-Up Partnerships.

BayWa Venture Investments

BayWa Venture Investments is the venture arm of the BayWa Group. It invests globally in Start-Ups that provide solutions for meeting the customer needs of tomorrow. To do so, we invest corporate venture capital in strategically relevant innovations and technologies. Our goal is to foster the development of each Start-Up and generate positive returns in the later phase of the successful Start-Up journey by acquiring a minority stake.

BayWa Venture Partnerships

With BayWa Venture Partnerships, we promote innovation through collaboration and make it possible for Start-Ups to share new technologies with BayWa’s business divisions. Start-Ups receive access to BayWa’s operating business, which helps them make a name for themselves among our industry networks, markets and customers. The partnership ranges from brainstorming and discussing ideas together to testing, pilot projects, product and service development and sales cooperation.

BayWa Venture innovation focus

BayWa is a broadly diversified, internationally operating group of companies with products, solutions and service offerings in the fields of energy, agriculture and building materials. BayWa Venture focuses primarily on solutions for a sustainable food supply chain. Due to the wide range of potential responses, BayWa divides the food supply chain into the following seven relevant drivers of innovation: 

– Alternative agricultural inputs (bioeffectors, biopesticides, biofertilizers)
– New agricultural technology (drones, robotics and sensors)
– New products (focus on upcycling and recycling existing flows of goods) 
– Precision agriculture (data analysis and operating software)
– New forms of sales and customer interaction (focus on automating and digitalising sales promotion processes) 
– Transparent and secure supply chains
– New sources of protein (plants, insects, algae and cell-based, as well as fermentation-based production) 

 
All drivers of innovation are relevant to us when it comes to working with Start-Ups. In our investments, we focus on biotechnology with applications in the fields of alternative operating resources and proteins.

News

We enable collaboration and innovation. The Start-Ups and BayWa’s business divisions are the ones who make the headlines.

Mit Start-Ups schaffen wir beständige Werte für den BayWa Konzern.

Die BayWa Venture GmbH ist der offene Innovationsansatz der BayWa mit dem Ziel, nachhaltig und messbar neue Geschäftsmodelle für das Unternehmen und seine Beteiligungen zu realisieren. Dies tun wir über zwei erfolgreiche Programme: die BayWa Venture Investments und die BayWa Venture Start-Up Kollaborationen.

BayWa Venture Investments

BayWa Venture Investments ist der Venture-Arm des BayWa Konzerns, der international in Start-ups investiert, um mit deren Lösungen die Kundenbedürfnisse von morgen zu bedienen. Dafür investieren wir Corporate Venture Capital in strategisch relevante Innovationen und Technologien. Unser Ziel ist, das jeweilige Start-up in seiner Entwicklung zu fördern und über eine Minderheitsbeteiligung in der späteren erfolgreichen Start-Up Journey eine positive Rendite zu erwirtschaften.

BayWa Venture Kollaborationen

Mit BayWa Venture Kollaborationen fördern wir Innovationen durch Zusammenarbeit und machen neue Technologien zwischen Start-Ups und den BayWa Geschäftsbereichen erlebbar. Start-Ups erhalten Zugang zum operativen BayWa Geschäft und damit auch zu unseren Industrie-Netzwerken, Märkten und Kunden. Die Zusammenarbeit reicht dabei von einem reinen Sparring über Tests und Pilotprojekte bis hin zur Produkt- und Serviceentwicklung sowie Vertriebskooperation.

BayWa Venture Innovation Fokus

Die BayWa ist ein breit aufgestellter, international tätiger Konzern mit Produkten, Lösungen und Serviceangeboten in den Segmenten Energie, Agrar und Bau. Die BayWa Venture fokussiert sich dabei primär auf Lösungen für eine nachhaltige Lebensmittelversorgungskette. Auch hier können die Antworten sehr vielschichtig sein. Darum unterteilt die BayWa Venture die Lebensmittelkette in die folgenden sieben relevanten Innovationstreiber: 

  • Alternative Betriebsmittel (Bio-Stimulanzien, Bio-Pestizide, Bio-Dünger)
  • Neue Landtechnik (Drohnen, Robotik und Sensorik)
  • Neue Produkte (Fokus auf Up- und Re-Cycling von vorhandenen Warenströmen) 
  • Präzise Landwirtschaft (Datenanalyse & Betriebssoftware)
  • Neue Vertriebs- und Kundeninteraktion (Fokus auf Automatisierung und Digitalisierung von vertriebsfördernden Prozessen) 
  • Transparente und sichere Lieferketten
  • Neue Proteinquellen (Pflanzen, Insekten, Algen und zellbasiert, sowie eine fermentationsbasierte Herstellung) 

Für die Zusammenarbeit mit Start-Ups sind für uns alle Innovationstreiber relevant. Bei Investitionen fokussieren wir uns auf Biotechnologie mit Anwendungen im alternativen Betriebsmittel- und Proteinbereich.

Neuigkeiten

Wir ermöglichen Kollaborationen oder Investitionen, die Start-Ups und die BayWa Geschäftsbereiche machen die Schlagzeilen.